Thetford Town 1 Ipswich Wanderers 1: Town punished for not making dominance count


- Credit: Archant

Thetford Town will see it as two points dropped rather than one gained on Saturday.

Town dominated the game but failed to convert numerous clear-cut chances and were ultimately pegged back.

With four teams likely to be relegated from the Thurlow Nunn Premier Division this season, Wanderers came into the game 14 points adrift of safety.

Thetford suffered a blow after just 13 minutes when influential midfielder Max Melanson limped off with a leg injury, to be replaced by the returning Ross Bailey.

The diminutive midfielder was soon able to exert his influence, a fine pass releasing Robbie Priddle who had his low shot saved by Jack Spurling.

Thetford’s midfield three dominated. Volta Rocha, a hat-trick hero against Godmanchester on Tuesday, Danny White and Bailey were able to control the tempo and carve out chances.

Two more opportunities were spurned by Priddle before he found the net in the 31st minute. Ben Anderson broke down the right and accelerated past the defender before his pinpoint cross was turned in by Priddle from eight yards.

Most Read

The Brecklanders’ domination of midfield continued into the second half. The visitors could not handle the pace and trickery of Anderson and it took a wonderful fingertip save from Spurling to deny him.

While Thetford’s lead remained at just a solitary goal there was always the danger of a rare Wanderers attack bringing parity to the scoreline however and so it proved. In the 71st minute, Ashley Rankin found space between two Thetford defenders to head home from six yards out.

Thetford pushed hard for a winner, but a mixture of poor finishing, solid goalkeeping and Ipswich’s willingness to put bodies on the line prevented them. The best chance fell to Rocha - a sharp turn eight yards out left him with the goal at his mercy, but the finish didn’t match the piece of skill.

Thetford visit Haverhill Rovers in the league on Saturday.

Thetford Town: Viner, Steed, Willis-Coomber, Clarke, McIntosh (Snow), White, Melanson (Bailey), Volta, Castro (Wood), Anderson, Priddle.