Thetford Golf Club celebrate year of success at prize-giving event

Rookery Park pair Mark Elmy & Peter Bunn won Thetford Golf Club's Festive Open.

Rookery Park pair Mark Elmy & Peter Bunn won Thetford Golf Club's Festive Open. - Credit: Submitted

More than 70 trophies were presented to the 2015 winners at Thetford Golf Club, along with another 30 players who received glassware as Medal and Stableford winners over the year.

Club champion Jared Delveaux has now returned to Wisconsin at the end of his tour of duty at RAF Lakenheath, so the Neville Bishop Scratch Cup was accepted by one of his regular playing partners, Charlie Bick.

Bick said he had spoken to Delveaux who had said how proud and pleased he was to have won the Thetford Club Championship and to have his name added to the honours board.

Robert Taylor was one of the busiest people on the evening, collecting the Neville Bishop Handicap trophy, the Bill Jennings Trophy and the John Fison Cup and EG Medal.

Talented junior Abigail O’Riordan was a five-time winner, winning the Thermalite Cup (Junior club champion), the Junior Masters Scratch Cup, the Junior Centenary Cup, the Barrell Trophy and the Ladies’ Handicap Challenge trophy.

The ladies’ club champion was Jessica Dixon, who received the Championship Trophy, and club vice-captain Alan Brown picked up the Seniors Medal Championship trophy.

Peter Griffiths and Shaun Langham completed a notable hat-trick when they won the Roy Lawrence Trophy for the four-ball better-ball matchplay event for the third year in a row.

Most Read

Meanwhile, the Festive Open attracted a sell-out field of 108.

The winners, on countback over the last six holes, were Rookery Park’s Mark Elmy and Peter Bunn, just getting the better of David Stallard and Andy Dougherty from Crondon Park in Essex, with home player Trevor Wignall and Brian Benjamin of Orsett third.

A point behind were Micky Dolan and Ian Cook (Rookery Park) with Martin Scott and Warren Graham (Rookery Park) on 39.