Records tumble in Thetford Dolphins’ annual championships


- Credit: Copyright: Archant 2017

Thetford Dolphins Swimming Club’s annual championships were again well attended.

The competition saw 17 club records and 17 championship records tumble while 332 personal best times and 227 new times were recorded.

Club records went to Ben Buckley, Harry Fasey, Francesca Long, Amalee Neill-Gourlay, Alice Fasey, Alfie King, Georgina Dickenson, Elena Armes and Jacob Wright.

Meanwhile there were Championship records for Ben Buckley, Harry Fasey, Aimee Dickerson, Louis James, Francesca Long, Alice Fasey, Alfie King, Amie Copp and Grace McGill.

Many swimmers were competing in their first gala, gaining new times.

Taking their first steps in competitive action were Alfie Williams, Amelia Dugan, Annabel Clark, Charlisse Harding, Chloe Harvey, Christopher Gomer, Eden Macduff, Ellie Buckley, Emily Chandler, Ewan Adams, Hannah Heavener, Isabel Smythe, Jessica Thomas, Keira Cronin, Hannah Twells, Isabelle Kemp, Aimee Pinkney, Alicia-Mae Howard, Kayleigh Brown, Lavanaya Mehra, Layla Barrett, Lucy Drummond, Lukas Gardeikis, Madeline Ramsay, Max Measures, Megan Haynes, Nathan Ruggles, Max Williams, Joshua Barrett, Kyla Simonds, Lucy Brown, Oscar Brown, Polly Pickard, Reggie Britcher, Rowan Ives, Samuel Fleet, Oscar Harris, Tabitha Payne, Samuel Wilkinson, Shannon Taylor, Starr Hutchinson, Taylor Dugan, Tiffany Pestell, Toby Flood, Jasmine Ewing, Willow Grimmer, Elodie Read and Jasmine Ackland.

Meanwhile Dolphins were represented by Jacob Wright, Alexandra Ashley, Amie Copp and Alice Fasey at the East Region Swimming Winter Long Course Championships held at Norwich UEA.

Most Read

All four put in commendable performances against swimmers from as far afield as Hatfield and Peterborough.

Jacob swam 2.26.01 for the 200m backstroke, Alexandra 2.21.25 for the 200m freestyle, Amie 36.36 for 50m breaststroke and 1.24.60 for 100m breastsrtoke and Alice 38.15 for 50m breaststroke, 1.22.54 for 100m breaststroke and 3.00.86 for 200m breaststroke.

The Thetford quartet all deserve praise as this event is only open to swimmers who have achieved the regional qualifying times this year.