National 100-mile cycling time trial championship held near Swaffham

CC Breckland's Mark Fairhead in action in the RTTC National 100-mile Championship Time Trial near Sw

CC Breckland's Mark Fairhead in action in the RTTC National 100-mile Championship Time Trial near Swaffham, Picture: Fergus Muir - Credit: Fergus Muir

The RTTC National 100-mile Championship Time Trial was the main event in Norfolk at the weekend.

The event, promoted by the East District Cycling Association, was run on a sporting circuit near Swaffham, with 55 riders taking part in the men’s event.

After 100 miles of racing only two minutes and nine seconds separated the top two, with South Pennine RC’s Charles Taylor winning in three hours 43 minutes and 28 seconds, ahead of seeded rider Adam Topham of High Wycombe CC (3.45.37).

Rounding off the podium was Sri Chinmoy Cycling Team’s Tejvan Pettinger with a time of 3.51.23.

The highest placed east district rider was Team Velovelocity’s Daniel Bloy, who finished eighth in 3.57.35. Team VeloVelocity went on to win the team prize, with Scott Davidson posting 4.01.40 for his first 100-mile TT and Geoff Frost celebrating his birthday in fine style with 4.16.15.

There was further success for the east district with Cycling Club Breckland’s Chris Nudds winning his age group in 4.29.56. Also riding for Breckland was Mark Fairhead, who finished in 4.54.01.

There were strong rides from many EDCA riders, including Charlie Nurse (North Norfolk Wheelers) 4.04.12, Jim Burgess (Anglia Velo) 4.08.03, Will Bamber (VC Norwich) 4.15.41, Tim Mardell (King’s Lynn CC) 4.17.50, Ben Keeley (King’s Lynn CC) 4.20.57 and Dave Moore (VC Norwich) 4.22.57.

Most Read

The ladies event was won by Trainsharp Racing Team rider Bronwen Ewing in a time of 4.11.26, ahead of Paula Moseley (4.15.10) of Climb on Bikes RT. Trainsharp racing also won the ladies team prize with Ewing’s ride being backed up by Lynn Hamel and Tina Reid.

The event also incorporated the Tricycle Associations 100-mile championship, organised by CC Brecklands Martin Badham.