Members of Cycling Club Breckland celebrate club’s milestone

The Saunders/Davis family after the presentation to founder members Don & Heather Saunders (Don is

The Saunders/Davis family after the presentation to founder members Don & Heather Saunders (Don is on the far right Heather is holding the flowers). CC Breckland celebrated its 40th year at its end-of-season dinner. - Credit: Submitted

Cycling Club Breckland is celebrating its 40th anniversary.

The club held its annual dinner and prize presentation event at Richmond Park Golf Club in Saham Toney on Saturday evening, with 49 members and friends coming together to celebrate the landmark.

After dinner club chairman and founding member Don Saunders told guests it was the first time in the club’s history that his mother and original founding member, Margaret Saunders, was sadly unable to attend the dinner due to her declining health.

Don went on to welcome all to the dinner and introduced guest of honour Terry Anderson, president of the Eastern Counties Cycling Association, and his wife Hazel.

After the prize presentation, president and fellow founder member Malcolm Potter spoke about how CC Breckland was founded and its early beginnings. He concluded by thanking chairman Don Saunders and his wife Heather for their hard work and dedication to the club over the 40 years, after which their grandchildren Emily and Declan Davis presented flowers and gifts bought for them by donations made by club members.

The evening was concluded with a raffle in aid of EACH, which raised £140 for The Nook appeal.

The following Sunday morning the club held its’ annual Freewheel and Hill Climb Championship at Berry’s Lane, Honingham.

Most Read

The Freewheel, travelling as far as gravity will take you without turning a pedal stroke. This was won by Don Saunders, who being ever competitive, adopted the most aerodynamic position possible and sailed down the hill to win the competition by a healthy margin.

Then it was time to go back up the hill, and this time the lighter riders had their chance to shine with Harvey Hall taking the title with a time of 1:01mins, ahead of Rod Hobbs in 1:17, Mark Fairhead in 1:20 and finally Declan Davis and Joseph Osborne on the tandem in 1.23.