Home start for Thetford Town in Premier

THETFORD TOWN will start their return to the Premier Division of the Eastern Counties League with two home fixtures in the space of four days.

Mark Scott’s men, hoping to continue the success which saw them reach the Norfolk Senior Cup final as well as winning promotion from Division One, open their Thurlow Nunn League campaign against Wivenhoe at Mundford Road on Saturday August 4.

They are then at home again on Tuesday, August 7 in a Premier Division derby against neighbours Mildenhall Town.

The FA Cup interupts on Saturday, August 11, when Thetford travel to Godmanchester Rovers – the team who pipped them to the Division One title – before they head to Essex to play their first away league fixture at Stanway on Saturday, August 18.

Pre-season is well underway, starting with warm-up matches against Fakenham and Littleport.

The Fakenham game was abandoned after 83 minutes because of the weather after two goals from Volta Rocha had put Thetford in charge.

On Saturday Thetford won 4-2 at Littleport with goals from Tom Dew, Steve Harley, Nikoljas Kozacuks and an ‘own’. The reserves were also in action there, going down 4-3.

Most Read

Thetford now have two high profile home games with Needham Market the visitors on Friday (kick-off 7.45pm) and Wroxham next Tuesday (also 7.45pm)

Mundford Road admission prices for the new season have been announced.

Season tickets, which include entry to all reserve as well as first team games, cost �95 (�48 for conessions).

Match day prices are �5 for adults / �3 concessions for first team games and �3/�1 for reserves. Anyone wanting to buy a season ticket should contact club secretary Bob Riches on bobrich60@talktalk.net.

Thurlow Nunn League


4 Wivenhoe H

Tue 7 Mildenhall H

18 Stanway A

Tue 21 Norwich Utd A

25 Clacton A


1 Woodbridge H

Tue 4 Gorleston A

8 Haverhill H

22 Hadleigh A

Tue 25 Diss Town H

29 Felixstowe & Walton A


6 Ely City H

Tue 9 Dereham Town H

Wed 17 Walsham-le-Willows A

20 Wivenhoe A

27 Kirkley & Pakefield H


3 Godmanchester A

10 Wisbech Town A

17 Stanway H


1 Brantham A

8 Gorleston H

15 Haverhill A

22 CRC H

29 Mildenhall A


Tue 1 Walsham-le-Willows H

12 Wisbech H

19 Ely City A

26 Godmanchester H


2 Kirkley & Pakefield A

9 Norwich Utd H


2 Dereham Town A

16 Brantham H

30 Clacton H


Mon 1 Diss Town A

6 Hadleigh H

13 Felixstowe & Walton H

20 CRC A

27 Woodbridge A