Duggleby narrowly misses record in CC Breckland’s 12 hour time trial

Alex Bailey about to start his 12 hour ride - watched over by chief time keeper Heather Saunders. Pi

Alex Bailey about to start his 12 hour ride - watched over by chief time keeper Heather Saunders. Picture: Mark Fairhead - Credit: Archant

Cycling Club Breckland riders enjoyed a good weekend.

Paul Sexton travelled over to Cambridge to take part in the Chronos RT 10 miles time trial.

He rode well to record a time of 21.35 just 10 seconds outside his personal best at this distance and finished 21st out of 70.

Breckland’s Chris Nudds and Mick Wood took an early morning trip to the E2/25 Course near Newmarket to compete in VTTA East Anglian promoted 25miles time trial.

In blustery conditions 69-year-old Chris rode strongly to finish in a time of 56.54 while Mick finished in a time of 1:01.03. The event was won by VeloRefind.com/Aerosmith rider Kevin Tye in 48.57.

Meanwhile over in Hingham and Attleborough the Breckland Club was busy running a 12 hour time trial. The event, which started at 6am, saw 26 riders take to the roads of Breckland at one minute intervals in rather wet conditions but this soon improved as some early morning sun and wind dried off the roads.

Riding for CC Breckland in his first 12 hour event was Alex Bailey who rode at a conservative and controlled pace to finish with a distance of 239.308 miles and finished 16th overall. Alex finished one place ahead of another local rider James Walsgrove, also riding his first 12 hour.

Most Read

At the sharp end of the field of riders a day long battle ensued between Torq Performance rider Mark Turnball and Viva Le Velo rider Adam Duggleby.

All eyes were on Duggleby as he had given indication of an attempt to better Andy Wilkinson’s competition record of 317.97 miles. He suffered two punctures and three wheel changes and fell short of Andy’s mark by the closest of margins, his provisional mileage recorded at 317.224.

Turnbull looked strong all day and finished with a distance of 311.905 miles. In third spot was last year’s winner Stephen Williamson of A3CRG cycling team with 300.514 miles. Fourth place went to local rider Dave Green riding for Team Velovelocity who posted a personal best distance of 291.103 miles.

In the women’s event it was Jill Wilkinson who came out on top with a distance of 272.763 miles. The Chester RC rider rode strongly and was placed seventh overall. Second women was Pip Jenkins of Southborough & District with a distance of 260.267.