Double celebration for Thetford Cricket Club

Thetford Cricket Club are set for an extra special end of season party.

The first team will step up to Division Three of the Frankly Digital Norfolk Alliance next summer after finishing runners-up in Division Four behind Bungay.

And Thetford A go up to Division Five as Division Six champions after a rain-affected final weekend.

Thetford A went into Saturday’s game at Lowestoft A needing 18 points to guarantee their first league title in 13 years. But rain throughout the county meant neither they nor title rivals Bradfield A could complete their games – and the nine points gained from a spirited batting display were enough to secure top spot.

Thetford’s much-changed line-up were asked to bat first in heavy conditions offering significant swing to the home bowlers.

Gavin Siriwardena (12) and Mick Leverton (26) struggled to score quickly but blunted the attack. Both fell chasing wide tempters from John Jenner (2-10), but Nick Shepherd and Shaun Bowden (11) took up the gauntlet until Bowden was given out LBW. Simon Lewis (21) contributed a characteristic cameo but was unable to repeat his century against the same opposition earlier in season as he became the first of four victims for M Reed.

Matt Terry (13) also fell to Reed, leaving Jason Peters and the tail to try to eke out more batting points after Shepherd was run out for 38.

Most Read

Peters (21 no) was unable to get Thetford to the 175 runs needed for a fourth batting point, but played a great knock supported by Steve Conroy and Dan Kerling to take the total to 172-9 from 46 overs.

Runs flowed freely as Lowestoft began their reply. Mick Leverton juggled but caught W Cooke off Glen James (1-22), however, and Matt Terry (1-12) bowled John Jenner (35) to leave Lowestoft 68-2 when rain forced an early end to the game.

The all-round team performance was typical of Thetford A’s season, in which the whole squad contributed.