Cycling Club Beckland’s Adam Cross revels on step up to seniors

FIVE HUNDRED riders took to the trails for round three of the Whyte Winter Series. As the riders gathered at the start of the 7.5 mile course a freezing fog descended and the forest was plunged into mist, but this was forgotten as the gun was fired on Thetford’s first race of 2012.

Cycling Club Breckland’s Adam Cross returned to form after an injury over the early winter and rode from an unseeded position to complete four laps to finish 29th out of nearly 140 in the Mens 2hour category. Cross finished highest of all the riders who made the step up from the junior category this year, ahead of Calum Riley, James Bowley, Lewis Board and James Hyde.

The two-hour Men’s category was won by Jason Boutell, nearly four minutes ahead of second-placed Glenn Stanford (CCN), who was followed by Graham Warby (Spirit Racing). Paul Ashby (Fat Birds) showed his excellence in the four-hour Vets category, beating John Fettis (Corley) by a staggering 12 minutes. Anita Buxton (Thetford MTB Racing/Bike Art) won the 2 hour womens category, ahead of Rachel Clarke and Fay Cunningham (RAF).

The junior category was won by Lewis Parker (HMF Pedal Power), from Oliver Edwards (VC Revolution) and Ben Morris (Welland Valley).