CC Breckland pair brave testing conditions to post respectable times

CC Breckland's Chris Nudd gets his head down during the recent time trial at King's Lynn. Picture: M

CC Breckland's Chris Nudd gets his head down during the recent time trial at King's Lynn. Picture: Ming Lo - Credit: Archant

There were challenging times for CC Breckland’s veteran time trialist Chris Nudd and Paul Sexton on Saturday at the King’s Lynn CC 25 miles TT on the popular B25/33 course, starting at Fincham.

The weather was luck of the draw, with many rider getting rather wet as well as having to battle against a blustery wind in the unseasonable conditions.

Chris and Paul were the only Brecklanders to brave the conditions and rode strongly, with Chris recording a time of 1.01.25 and Paul just squeezing under the hour with a time of 59.31.

At the sharp end and seemingly unaffected by the adverse weather conditions there was a clean sweep for Team Velovelocity who took the top three places and the team award.

First was Matthew Senter in 53.40, second Daniel Bloy in 54.04 and third David Procter in 55.30.

In the junior event VC Baracchi’s Lucas He rode very impressively to record the seventh fastest time and thus win the junior event with a time of 57.21

Fastest woman was Denise Hurren of Sole Bay Cycle Sport in 1.02.26.

Most Read

Moving on to Sunday Breckland’s Mark Fairhead and Paul Coulthread made the trip to Hacheston, near Wickham Market to compete in the Stowmarket and District CC event on the B10/36r course running from on the A12 from Wickham Market to Woodbridge and back, with the 10 mile event attracted a good sized field of riders.

On the day it was Catford CC rider Lloyd Chapman who took the top spot with a blistering time of 19.55. He was not too badly affected by the head wind that riders unexpectedly faced on the out leg to Woodbridge.

Second place went to Mark Arnold of CC Desiragear in 20.26 with Ipswich BC rider Simon Hance taking third place in 20.45. For Breckland Mark Fairhead finished in 24.38 and Paul Coulthread in 30.34.

In the women’s event it was Sole Bay cycling sport’s Denise Hurren who came out on top with a time of 23.34.

In the junior event, following on from his fine ride in the King’s Lynn Lucas He rode well to record 21.52 to finish just outside the top 10. The team award went to Ipswich BC.

Great Yarmouth CC’s Thursday night time trial saw 16 riders take part. Tom Moore dipped below 26 minutes (25.57) while Louis Julian won in 23.40.