All change at Thetford Golf Club

Thetford Golf Club’s annual general meeting took place at the Carnegie Rooms, chaired by retiring president Chris Crimmen.

The chairman of the management committee, Chris White, reported on the current situation within the club and the prospective programme for further improvement in the coming year.

The opening of the new Professional Shop ‘Nevada Bobs at Thetford Golf Club’ was announced, as was the appointment of Stuart Smith as teaching professional together with his team. Stuart has been a teaching professional for some 20 years and will bring much experience into the club. It is understood he will initiate a Junior Academy operating on a Saturday morning. All juniors who play golf or wish to take up the sport will be welcome.

Election of Officers took place and the following duly elected into their respective posts: President – Peter J King. Captain (2013) – Gary Goodchild, Vice Captain – Brian Chadwick. Treasurer – Les Dewey.

Terry Young and Tim Norman were elected to the management committee and Roy Nichols, Trevor Hart and Michael Horley were elected to the golf & social committee.

Officers elected at their respective Ladies and Seniors AGM’s were: Ladies Captain – Molly Izzard, Seniors Captain – Alan Ashcroft.